The ANZAC Peace Park is designed as a landscape of peace. It is an iconic location connecting city and harbour, endowed with multiple symbolic associations.
The Memorial Wall is a key feature of the ANZAC Peace Park and functions as a canvas for interpretation, a memorial to the ANZAC's and a backdrop to commemorative services.
According to research, two Australian soldiers souvenired pine cones back to Australia from the Lone Pine Ridge in 1915. From one, taken back to Inverell in NSW, two seedlings were propagated. In 1934 the Duke of Gloucester planted one at the Australian War Memorial in Canberra, and today it stands over 20m in height.
The Lone Pine Grove in Albany provides a major focus for the theme of Peace within Anzac Peace Park. It expresses a direct and living connection between ‘Gallipoli and Albany” and the idea of peace across time, place and people.
The Lone Pine Grove (Aleppo pines, Pinus halepensis) is contained by a curved granite wall with a long integrated timber seat. Both the granite and timber are local to Albany.
A number of the ANZAC stories have been integrated into seats located through the park. The intention is to slow the pace of visitors, provide rest points and allow time to reflect and investigate the stories as they move through the park. The seats are set into a widened section of the path to create a comfortable ‘place’. Local granite, timber and cast concrete panels using the local crushed granite assist in making the interpretation local, a place that inherently belongs to Albany.
The Pier of Remembrance is a key symbolic and interpretive focal point within the Anzac Peace Park.
The pier is a slender stretch of boardwalk, which gently curves into Princess Royal Harbour and offers visitors an opportunity to move beyond the edge of the bay that bounds the park, and over the water. It provides a site for respite and reflection of those lost in the war and will also enable visitors as they walk out along the pier to enact in a physical and symbolic way the process of ‘leaving’ much as was done by the troops departing for war in 1914. The names of the ships comprising the first and second convoys are inscribed along the pier.