Public notices are used to advise Albany residents of road closures, footpath works and rubbish collections within the municipality.

All notices are published in local and/or state publications such as the Albany Advertiser, Great Southern Weekender and West Australian.

Construction is due to commence in October 2018.  Enquiries should be directed to Team Leader - Civil Infrastructure, Roger Cations, on 6820 3975 or rogerc@albany.wa.gov.au during business hours.

Download:
Lower Stirling Terrace One Way System (3MB) View File  OR   Download FileApproved design to amend the traffic flow on Lower Stirling Terrace.

Construction is due to commence on 15 October 2018.  Enquiries should be directed to Rocky Ruffo, on 6820 3998 or rockyr@albany.wa.gov.au during business hours.

Notification of Road Closures

Albany Vintage & Classic Motorcycle November 3 - 4

The City of Albany wishes to advise that there will be two road closures during the weekend.

  • Saturday 3 November - Stirling Terrace is closed from 0600- 1400hrs for the motorcycle static display.
  • Sunday 4 November - Marine Drive is closed from 0530-1630hrs for the Hill Climb
  • On Sunday, Flinders Parade will be closed from Barnett St to Marine Drive.
  • Adelaide Crescent will be closed from Marine terrace to Marine Drive.
  • Marine Drive will be closed from the roundabout at Flinders Parade, Adelaide Crescent as far as the Forts Road.

The National Anzac Centre and Princess Royal Fortress will still be accessible during the weekend via Burgoyne Road.

Remembrance Day Events Road Closures November 8 -11

Schools Centenary Commemoration of Armistice

The City of Albany and RSL Albany Sub-branch wish to advise that on Thursday 8 November road closures will be in place from

09.00am - 12.00noon.

  • York Street and Princess Royal Drive
  • York Street will open once schools are mustered in Anzac Peace Park. Princess Royal Drive will remain closed until noon.

Remembrance Day Troop March and Memorial Service

The City of Albany and RSL Albany Sub-branch wish to advise that on Sunday 11 November road closures will be in place from 09.00am 12.00noon.

  • York Street and Princess Royal Drive

York Street will open once troops are mustered in Anzac Peace Park. Princess Royal Drive will remain closed until noon.

Armistice Day Community Celebration

The City of Albany wish to advise that on Sunday 11 November road closures will be in place from 02.00am – 11.00pm

  • Stirling Terrace from York Street to Spencer Street.

The Boatshed Markets and Albany Entertainment Centre will be accessible via Bolt Terrace.

A review of the Signs on Public Land Policy has been undertaken and a revised draft has been developed.

The objectives of this policy are to:

  • Provide guidance to the public (in particular visiting public) in locating community services and commercial tourism related facilities within the City of Albany through clear and uniform information;
  • Prevent indiscriminate advertising by enabling finite advertising opportunities where they are appropriate to their location and function;
  • Prevent the placement of signs where they could present a hazard to anyone; and
  • Enable authorised persons to undertake compliance and enforcement functions under local laws and legislation in a manner that is consistent and appropriate.

Council is seeking feedback from the community on the draft document prior to its adoption.

The document can be viewed on the City’s website at http://www.albany.wa.gov.au/council/council/public-notices/

or hard copies are available from the North Road offices.

Please direct feedback to the City’s Senior Project Administrator, Justine Haigh, via email at justineh@albany.wa.gov.au by 22 November 2018.

Download:
DRAFT: Signs on Public Land Policy (182KB) View File  OR   Download FileTo provide guidance to the public (in particular visiting public) in locating community services and commercial tourism related facilities within the City of Albany through clear and uniform information

As part of the City’s 2018/2019 capital works programme, the existing crossing at the intersection of Locke Street and Albany Highway will be relocated.

 The current scope includes:

·         Remove the existing crossing;

·         Reconstruct the crossing in a more appropriate location.

As part of these works, the Albany Highway / Locke Street intersection will be closed to all traffic.  A detour will be in place via Albany Highway / Chester Pass Road / Kelly Street.

Works are expected to start week commencing 29 October 2018 and completed by 02 November 2018.

The City will endeavour to keep disruptions to a minimum and provide details to residents of the onsite supervisor closer to construction commencement.

Enquiries should be directed to Rocky Ruffo, Supervisor – Construction, on 6820 3998, during business hours.

TEMPORARY EXTENDED TRADING HOURS 2018-19 CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR PERIOD

The City of Albany advises that the following temporary extended trading hours for Christmas & New Year Trading 2018-19 have been approved by the Hon. Bill Johnston MLA Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Commerce and Industrial Relations; Electoral Affairs; Asian Engagement

Saturday 1 December 2018 ............................. 5pm to 9pm
(Christmas Pageant)
Sunday 2 December 2018 ................................ 10am to 5pm
Monday 3 December 2018 ................................ 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 4 December 2018 ................................ 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 5 December 2018 ........................... 6pm to 9pm
Friday 7 December 2018 .................................... 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 9 December 2018 ............................... 10am to 5pm
Monday 10 December 2018 ................................ 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 11 December 2018 ............................... 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 12 December 2018 ......................... 6pm to 9pm
Friday 14 December 2018 .................................... 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 16 December 2018 ................................ 10am to 5pm
Monday 17 December 2018 .................................. 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 18 December 2018 ................................. 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 19 December 2018 ............................ 6pm to 9pm
Friday 21 December 2018 ..................................... 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 23 December 2018 ................................. 10am to 5pm
Monday 24 December 2018 ................................... 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 25 December 2018 ..................................... CLOSED
(Christmas Day)
Wednesday 26 December 2018 ........................... 10am to 5pm
(Boxing Day)
Friday 28 December 2018 ....................................... 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 30 December 2018 .................................... 10am to 5pm
Monday 31 December 2018 ..................................... 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 1 January 2019 ..................................... 10am to 5pm
(New Year’s Day)
Wednesday 2 January 2019 ..................................... 6pm to 9pm
Friday 4 January 2019 ............................................. 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 6 January 2019 .......................................... 10am to 5pm
Monday 7 January 2019 ........................................... 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 8 January 2019 .......................................... 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 9 January 2019 ..................................... 6pm to 9pm
Friday 11 January 2019 ............................................ 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 13 January 2019 ........................................ 10am to 5pm
Monday 14 January 2019 ........................................ 6pm to 9pm
Tuesday 15 January 2019 ........................................ 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 16 January 2019 ................................... 6pm to 9pm
Friday 18 January 2019 ............................................ 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 20 January 2019 ....................................... 10am to 5pm
Monday 21 January 2019 ......................................... 8am to 9pm
Tuesday 22 January 2019 ........................................ 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 23 January 2019 ................................. 6pm to 9pm
Friday 25 January 2019 ......................................... 6pm to 9pm
Sunday 27 January 2019 ....................................... 10am to 5pm
Monday 28 January 2019 ...................................... 10am to 5pm
(Australia Day)
Tuesday 29 January 2019 ...................................... 6pm to 9pm
Wednesday 30 January 2019 ................................. 6pm to 9pm

Please note it is not compulsory for retailers to trade on these dates.

As part of the City’s 2018/2019 capital works programme, works are being undertaken on the North Road Pedestrian Crossing near Bethel Way.

 The current scope includes:

  • Remove the existing crossing;
  • Install a new crossing point approximately 60m to the west.

Works are expected to start week commencing 06 November 2018 and completed by 16 November 2018.

If you have any questions in regards to these works, please contact Rocky Ruffo on 6820 3998 or rockyr@albany.wa.gov.au. 

As part of the City's 2018/2019 capital works programme, the final section of Norwood Road will undergo reconstruction.

Works are expected to be completed by early December 2018.

If you have any questions in regards to these works, please contact Rocky Ruffo on 6820 3998 or rockyr@albany.wa.gov.au.